## Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

May 21, 2024

The Honorable Robert Aderholt Chair Subcommittee on Labor, HHS & Education 2358-B - Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Rosa DeLauro Ranking Member Subcommittee on Labor, HHS & Education 1016 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

## Dear Chairman Aderholt and Ranking Member DeLauro:

We write with shared concerns regarding the annual adjustment to the Adverse Effect Wage Rate (AEWR). Now in 2024, the H-2A labor rates paid by agricultural employers have become more unaffordable, and it will certainly increase in 2025 as well. The new rates put further financial strain on farm operations of all sizes, and we urge you to include an H-2A wage freeze in Fiscal Year 2025 appropriations legislation.

The national average AEWR has already more than doubled over the past two decades, making agricultural guest labor unaffordable for farm employers and resulting in higher consumer costs. According to the American Farm Bureau Federation, the national average AEWR is around \$17.55, which is upwards of a mean 5 percent increase over 2023. While the AEWR varies by region, nearly half of all states have an AEWR between \$17 and \$19 per hour in 2024. Meanwhile, producers in Canada pay closer to \$11 per hour for fieldworkers, or even approximately \$1.50 per hour in Mexico. This uneven playing field greatly disadvantages our domestic producers.

For farmers and ranchers who use H-2A, the skyrocketing AEWR will only compound inflated input costs like energy and fertilizer, other guest worker expenses like transportation and housing, and burdens from several impending federal regulations and fees. USDA data shows that hired farm labor costs account for nearly 15 percent of total cash expenses. More labor-intensive industries will be hardest-hit, including specialty crop growers, who already spend nearly 40 percent of their total cash expenses on labor alone. If we do nothing, many of our constituents will be forced to shutter their businesses, despite good-faith efforts to ensure our national food security and feed families across our nation.

While more permanent solutions are needed to address the AEWR's past impact and its future trajectory, we request that the Fiscal Year 2025 appropriations bill prohibit funds from being used to implement a wage larger than the January 2023 wage rate or otherwise freeze the H-2A wage rates at January 2023 levels. Thank you for your attention to this important matter.

Sincerely,

Bill Huizenga

Member of Congress

Eric A. "Rick" Crawford

Member of Congress

Donald G. Davis

Member of Congress

Daniel T. Kildee

Member of Congress

Kilder

Cliff Bentz
Member of Congress

Fulcher.

Russ Fulcher Member of Congress

Glenn "GT" Thompson Member of Congress

Lisa C. McClain
Member of Congress

Trent Kelly Member of Congress Garret Graves
Member of Congress

Tim Walberg
Member of Congress

In Wallery

Joe Wilson

Member of Congress

Dan Meuser Member of Congress

Jack Bergman
Member of Congress

Elise M. Solanh

ohn Ow Rose

Elise M. Stefanik Member of Congress Claudia Tenney Member of Congress

Member of Congress

John Rose

Member of Congress

Nicholas A. Langworthy Member of Congress

Dusty Johnson

Member of Congress

Doug LaMalfa

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Cory **M**ills

Member of Congress

Dan Bishop

Michael T. McCaul

Member of Congress

Andrew S. Clyde Member of Congress

David Rouzer Member of Congress

Mary E. Miller Member of Congress

Austin Scott Member of Congress Mike Kelly

Member of Congress

Cathy McMorris Rodgers Member of Congress

John Joyce, M.D. Member of Congress

Pete Sessions

Member of Congress

Lori Chavez-DeRemer

PLANE

Patrick Ryan
Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Scott DesJarlais, M.D. Member of Congress Frank D. Lucas
Member of Congress

Ben Cline

Member of Congress

Zach Xunn

Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin

Member of Congress

Lance Gooden

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Larry Bugshon, M.D.

Mike Bost

Member of Congress

Marie Gluesenkamp Perez Member of Congress

Kelly Armstrong

Member of Congress

**Brad Finstad** 

Member of Congress

Bruce Westerman

Member of Congress

Richard Hudson

Member of Congress

Derrick Van Orden Member of Congress

Laurel M. Lee

Member of Congress

David Kustoff

Member of Congress

Ronny L. Jackson

Glenn Grothman Member of Congress Marcus J. Molinaro Member of Congress

Kim Schrier, M.D.
Member of Congress

Daniel Webster Member of Congress

Member of Congress

William R. Timmons, IV Member of Congress

Russell Fry

Member of Congress

John James

Men ber of Congress

Monica De La Cruz Member of Congress

Kat Cammack Member of Congress Ralph Norman / Member of Congress

Mike Ezell
Member of Congress

Darin LaHood Member of Congress

Gregory T. Murphy, M.D Member of Congress

Jim Banks Member of Congress

Clay Higgins
Member of Congress

Hilary J. Scholten Member of Congress

Jeff Duncan Member of Congress

Erin Houchin Member of Congress

Gus M. Bilirakis Member of Congress Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Michael Waltz

Member of Congress

Noutraniel Moran

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Nathaniel Moran

Barry Loudermilk

Member of Congress

Troy E. Nehls

Member of Congress

Barry Moore

Member of Congress

Mark Alford

Member of Congress

Mike Rogers

Member of Congress

Keith Self

Member of Congress

Dale W. Strong

Member of Congress

Brian Babin, D.D.S.

Member of Congress

John S. Duarte

Member of Congress

Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Member of Congress

Sal I Bully Carte

Jefferson Van Drew Member of Congress

Michelle Fischbach Member of Congress

Wesley Hunt

Gary J. Palmer Member of Congress Member of Co

August Pfluger Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Michael Cloud Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Tony Gonzales

Member of Congres

Randy Feenstra Member of Congress

Jodey C. Arrington

Member of Congress

Roger Williams

Diana Harshbarger

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D. Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Byron Donalds Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Randy K. Weber, Sr. Member of Congress Pete Stauber

Member of Congress

Greg Pence

Jim Costa

Member of Congress

French Hill

ench Krig

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Jenniffer González-Colón

Member of Congress

Member of Congress