Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

April 28, 2023

The Honorable Alejandro Mayorkas Secretary Department of Homeland Security 301 7th Street SW Washington, D.C. 20528

We, the Members of the Michigan Delegation, write regarding the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's (DHS) rule proposed on January 4, 2023, titled "U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services Fee Schedule and Changes to Certain Other Immigration Benefit Request Requirements." We have serious concerns regarding the significant fee increases proposed by DHS.

Under the proposed rule, agricultural employers utilizing temporary non-immigrant H-2A workers will face an increase from \$460 to \$1,090 on petitions for named workers as well as an increase from \$460 to \$530 for unnamed workers. Michigan agriculture is a significant driver of the state's economy and our farmers that rely on H-2A are already faced with a 12.8% wage rate increase since last year. DHS is also proposing a new \$600 Asylum Program Fee on certain work visa petitions that will impact not just agriculture but a wide array of industries from tourism to nonprofits. Although the severity and scope of this \$600 fee is alarming on its own, the collected funds would go towards unrelated asylum program needs. While we understand the need for DHS to occasionally review visa fees, we believe such a sharp increase in fees would compound the impact of the increased costs the agriculture economy is facing right now. We are concerned this will make running an agricultural operation more difficult, limit job opportunities for Americans, raise prices for consumers, and harm our nation's food security.

With these considerations in mind, we request DHS reconsider the implementation of these significant fee increases within the rule. We look forward to working with DHS on improving visa services on behalf of the Michigan businesses we represent and protecting our borders.

Sincerely,

Bill Huizenga

Member of Congress

Lisa McClain Member of Congress

Kelle

Daniel T. Kildee Member of Congress

Elissa Slotkin Member of Congress

Non Jack Bergman

Member of Congress

John R. Moolenaar Member of Congress

Tim Walberg nh

Member of Congress

John James

Member of Congress

Laskeda flail

Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

WILL Schutter

Hillary J. Scholten Member of Congress

)incol ed Debbie Dingell

Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress